If you suspect that a child, elder, or vulnerable adult is experiencing abuse or neglect, SAFV urges you to report it. It is not your responsibility to determine whether your suspicions are correct, to confront the abuse, or to investigate. In fact, you should NOT investigate. If you make a report in good faith, you are immune from any civil or criminal liability. SAFV staff can support community members in making calls to OCS or APS. If you would like support or have any questions, please contact SAFV at 907-747-3370.
Who Should I Call?
If you have reason to believe someone is in immediate danger, call 911.
To report CHILD ABUSE, call the Southeast Alaska Regional Office of Children's Services (OCS): 888-622-1650. For more information, visit the OCS website.
To report ELDER or VULNERABLE ADULT ABUSE, call Adult Protective Services (APS): 907-269-3666. For more information, visit the APS website.
What is a Mandated Reporter?
SAFV employees are mandated reporters and are required by law to make reports of suspected or known abuse or neglect within 24 hours of learning about it. Check out our Mandatory Reporter Guidelines to find out what you will need to make a report. Here are OCS's Training and APS's Training on mandatory reporting.
What is Child Abuse?
Neglect and emotional abuse, especially being exposed to domestic violence, are two of the most common forms of child abuse in Alaska. Child abuse is broken down into four categories: 1) neglect 2) emotional abuse 3) physical abuse and 4) sexual abuse. There is a connection from being terrorized as a child to bullying and terrorizing as an adolescent and adult. Children who witness violence in their homes are more likely to become abusers themselves or victims of spousal or sexual abuse. Children who experience child abuse and neglect are also more likely to be arrested as juveniles or adults, or commit violent crimes. To learn more about child abuse, visit our Child Abuse resource page.
Vulnerable adult abuse is a term used to describe any knowing, intentional, or negligent act by a caregiver or any other person that causes harm or a serious risk of harm to a vulnerable adult. Alaska law defines vulnerable adults as a person 18 years of age or older who, because of incapacity, mental illness, mental deficiency, physical illness or disability, advanced age, chronic use of drugs, chronic intoxication, or confinement is unable to meet their own needs or to seek help without assistance. To learn more about vulnerable adult abuse, visit our Vulnerable Adult Abuse page.
What is Vulnerable Adult and Elder Abuse?